The Hundred Cricket latest franchise tournament

There is a new cricket competition, and it is unlike anything we have ever seen before. It is called the Hundred, and after years of planning, it is finally set to start tonight.

The Hundred is the latest instalment of these franchise cricket competitions that we have seen worldwide. However, these other franchise cricket competitions have been under the T/20 format whilst The Hundred is not.

The Hundred is a 100-ball cricket game and it will involve eight men’s and women’s teams located in major cities across England and Wales. 

How did the Hundred cricket format come about?

With the stunning rise of the Indian Premier League (IPL), many cricketing boards have tried to find a way to emulate the success of the IPL. However, it has not been possible.

So, in September 2016, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) proposed a new city-based T20 competition. Most of the counties voted in favour.

However, in October 2017, Sanjay Patel, the ECB’s Chief Commercial Officer, proposed the idea of an entirely new type of cricket. He argued the 100-ball format would be easy to understand for the new audience. 

Format hundred

Each bowler can deliver a maximum of 20 balls per game. Each bowling side gets a strategic time out of up to two and a half minutes. 

As previously mentioned, it is 100-balls for each side. There will be a change of ends after ten balls. The bowler can bowl either five or ten consecutive balls, this opposed to the standard six balls.

There will be a 25 ball powerplay at the start for each team. This is opposed to the usual six over powerplay in T20, and ten over powerplay in 50 over cricket. 

The Hundred games will last about two and a half hours. There will be thirty-two matches, and each team will play four games at home and away from home. 


The Hundred rules: Format of the new cricket tournament explained, fixtures  in full and how to watch on TV

The teams are the Birmingham Phoenix, who will play their cricket at Edgbaston. They will have players like Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, and Imran Tahir in their men’s team. The women’s team will be led by Amy Jones and includes young Indian superstar Shefali Verma.

The next team is the London Spirit. They will play at Lords Cricket Ground and will be led by England two World Cup-winning captains. Yes, Eoin Morgan and Heather Knight. This team will feature the likes of Mohammad Amir, Mark Wood, Freya Davies, and Tammy Beaumont.

The Manchester Originals are the next team we will see in action. We will see them play at Old Trafford. They will field the likes of Jos Buttler and Lockie Ferguson. The women’s team will be led by Kate Cross but will boast the likes of Harmanpreet Kaur and Sophie Ecclestone. 

Then there are the Oval Invincibles. Expect to see them at the Oval Cricket Ground. In this team, we should see the Curran brothers, Tom and Sam. Alongside them, we will see Jason Roy, Saqib Mahmood, and Sunil Narine. The women’s team will see Mady Villiers, Tash Farrant, and Dane van Niekerk.

Northern superchargers

The next team is the Northern Supercharges. They will play their cricket at Headingley. We will see the likes of Ben Stokes, Faf du Plessis, and Adil Rashid in the men’s teams. The women’s team will be led by Lauren Winfield-Hill. She will have some talented players like Jemimah Rodrigues to count on. 

One of the most talented teams at this tournament is the Southern Brave. They will showcase there talent at the Rose Bowl in Hampshire.The men’s team has the likes of Devon Conway, Quinton de Kock, and Jofra Archer. Their women’s side might be even better with the likes of Smriti Mandhana, Danni Wyatt, Sophia Dunkley, and a certain Stafanie Taylor. 

We now have the Trent Rockets. They will play at Trent Bridge. We will see the likes of Joe Root, Dawid Malan, and a superstar in Rashid Khan play for the men’s team. The women’s team will be led by Nat Sciver, who will play alongside Katherine Brunt and Sarah Glenn.

The final team that we will get to see at the Hundred is the Welsh Fire. They will play their games at the Sophia Garden in Cardiff. The men’s team will feature players like Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, and Ollie Pope. The women’s team will see the returning Sarah Taylor and Hayley Matthews.

Have there been any disruptions?

Yes! The Hundred was initially supposed to start last year. However, due to Covid, it was delayed. 

We have also seen multiple withdrawals from this tournament. We have lost the likes of Kieron Pollard, David Warner, Ellyse Perry, Andre Russell, and a few others. Hopefully, we can see them next year. 

Where can I watch it?

The tournament will be broadcast on both Sky Sports and the BBC.

Happy watching!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.