European Super League announced as Premier League “Big Six” included

UEFA and the Premier League are using all methods available in order to shutdown the idea of this Super League. Despite their best efforts, 12 Major European clubs have already taken kindly to the idea. JP Morgan will give $425 million to the clubs just for accepting the invitation to the league.

Who’s involved in the Super League?

Barcelona, Real Madrid, and Atletico Madrid will join from La Liga. From the Italian Serie A, Juventus, AC Milan and Inter Milan. Additionally, Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester CIty, Manchester United, and Tottenham Hotspur, will join from the Premier League. These clubs are all part of the so called “Big Six” in England. Bayern Munich and Borussia Dortmund declined the invitation. It is safe to say the idea has not sat well with leaders of major European football associations. UEFA has openly criticised the idea and said it will use “all measures” in order to stop this “cynical project”.

UEFA has thanked clubs that declined invites for the league, this includes the aforementioned Bundesliga teams and also Paris-Saint Germain.

Why now?

The news of the this Super League comes at a time where UEFA were already about to announce their plans for a 36 team Champions League. This would revitalise Champions League football giving new life to the competition. UEFA were about to announce their plans today.

European Super League logo, Photo Credits: TechnoSports

What has the reaction been to the Super League?

Many prominent figures have already spoken out against the formation of this league, such as British Prime Minister Boris Johnson saying it would “strike at the heart of the domestic game and will concern fans across the country”. As well as, former Manchester United defender Gary Neville spoke out on the matter at length on Sunday saying, “Dock them points. Put them bottom of the league and take the money off them. You have got to stamp on this. It’s criminal. It’s a criminal act against football fans in this country.”

“Manchester United aren’t even in the Champions League. Arsenal aren’t in the Champions League. You watched Arsenal earlier today and they were a shambles of a football club.”

“Tottenham aren’t in the Champions League and they want a God-given right to be in there? It’s an absolute joke and the time has come now for an independent regulator to stop these clubs having a power base. Enough is enough.”

“I’m a Man United fan and have been for 40 years of my life, but I’m disgusted. I’m disgusted by Man United and Liverpool most. Liverpool, they pretend that you’ll never walk alone, they’re the people’s club, the fans club.”

“Man Utd, 100 years born out of workers here and they’re breaking away to a league without competition, that they can’t be relegated from. It’s an absolute disgrace. Honestly, we have to wrestle back the power in this country from the clubs at the top of this league and that includes my club.”

The French President Emmanuel Macron said he “welcomes the position of French clubs to refuse to participate” in a European Super League “that threatens the principle of solidarity and sporting merit”.

How does it work?

The European Super League will be comprised of 20 teams. The league will have 15 founding members and an extra five that may get in based on their season in the domestic league. The Super League will rival the new Champions League format.

The new look UEFA Champions League will make each team play 10 games, replacing the group stage format. There will then be play-offs followed by an eventual knockout phase. Additionally, the seeding for the Champions League is changing, to include four additional places. UEFA will reserve two of these places for clubs who rank highest in UEFA’s coefficient table however, fail to qualify for the Champions League in their domestic league. However, these clubs will have secured some form of European football.

What happens next?

Here is the announcement from the European Super League on sunday evening “Twelve of Europe’s leading football clubs have today come together to announce they have agreed to establish a new mid-week competition, the Super League, governed by its Founding Clubs.”

Manchester United co-chairman Joel Glazer made this statement “By bringing together the world’s greatest clubs and players to play each other, the Super League will open a new chapter for European football, ensuring world-class competition and facilities, and increased financial support for the wider pyramid.”

UEFA is threatening to ban all participating teams from their domestic leagues and competitions, the Champions League. Furthermore, UEFA will forbid players from the Super League to represent their respective countries in international competitions. This is all in an attempt to deter teams from joining the Super League.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.